Announcing my new book: Preaching After God: Derrida, Caputo, and the Language of Postmodern Homiletics

Just yesterday I sent in my final typesetting edits to the publisher for my new book, Preaching After God: Derrida, Caputo, and the Language of Postmodern Homiletics. I’ve been working on it in one way or another for the past four years, and while I am very proud of my previous books, this one by far represents the material closest to my heart.

I’m still not exactly sure when the release date will be (likely in the summer), and I haven’t seen the cover art yet, but I will keep you posted. I’ll also be releasing endorsements for the book as they became available (in order to persuade you to buy it, of course!!). For those of you who know me, you can imagine how honored I am for John Caputo to be the first person to offer an endorsement. His scholarship is exceeded only by his generosity of spirit, and I am deeply grateful for his encouragement along the way:

“In Preaching After God  Phil Snider adroitly shows that postmodern theology will preach!  He mounts an impressive argument that a ‘homiletics of the event’ is the best way to reach a world that has had enough of a supernaturalism that nullifies human agency, without sinking into an anthropologism where human subjects are the only game in town.  He has an ear for postmodern theory and the gift of telling us what preaching needs to be.  A must read for theologians and preachers alike.” – John Caputo

If Caputo’s thought is unfamiliar to you, check out Canada’s CBC radio’s Ideas epidsode After Atheism: New Perspectives on God and Religion.

Also, the good folks at Homebrewed Christianity just posted another great podcast featuring his work: Get Lost in Order to be Saved.

One thought on “Announcing my new book: Preaching After God: Derrida, Caputo, and the Language of Postmodern Homiletics

Leave a comment